There, I Fixed It

One thing I find really annoying about the Surface is that when you use the trackpad, the scrolling is reversed from the way it has been since, oh, the invention of scrolling. It was Apple’s stupid idea to start doing that so that the trackpad and touchscreen swipes would be in the same direction. Well guess what? Trackpads and touchscreens are two different things. I’m really saddened that Microsoft went this direction.

You know what else bugs me? Left turn signals that have started using blinking yellow arrows. What the heck do those mean? Turn left really quickly, the light is about to change? I don’t know why people feel the need to change things that have worked forever when it mostly causes confusion. Wait, what was I talking about again? Oh yeah, the trackpad.

Thankfully, Microsoft (finally) have given us a way to correct this most egregious error on their part. If you go to the Windows Store and download Trackpad Settings, you can fix this design flaw.

Trackpad Settings

It’s pretty basic, but it does let you reverse the scrolling direction. I did notice that if you turn the trackpad off, it still registers clicks, so they probably need to fix that. Other than that, it does what it says.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go yell at those kids that are on my lawn again.

You Weren’t Using Those VMs, Were You?

I’ve been using Windows Azure for a bit to test out some things, and it was going well. I had set up a site-to-site VPN so that my Azure VMs could talk to my on-premise stuff, and I had a bunch of VMs running for testing purposes. And then one morning I logged into Azure, and everything was gone. Every. Thing. So I opened up a support ticket, and was told that there was a spending cap on the Azure subscription that I was using, and I had hit it.

So in order for you not to ring up any charges, they just delete everything in your subscription, and it’s not coming back. They did send me a link that described how to recover the VM hard drives, but the VMs themselves no longer exist. I was able to recover the hard drives, so no data loss, but to attach them to new VMs is a pain, considering that all my VMs were domain-joined. But the best part of the instructions is this little tidbit at the end:

*** Efforts are in progress to improve the user experience for this issue.***

Well, I would hope so. Just deleting EVERYTHING (!!!) isn’t exactly a good user experience. Moral of the story, check to make sure you don’t have a spending cap on your account if you don’t want to lose everything.